Texas Liberal

All People Matter

Excellent Blog South Texas Chisme Teaches Lesson On How To Disagree Without Being Angry

An excellent and friendly Texas political blog is South Texas Chisme. This blog covers, among other places, Corpus Christi and Brownsville. 

A few weeks ago I took the position that Democrats should only support another Democrat for Speaker of the Texas House. I allowed myself to get into a nasty time-wasting exchange of comments on Burnt Orange Report. I let myself get angry which is always the wrong course. I also made some posts on my own blog about the subject and a few of the comments I got in reply were not so warm. 

South Texas Chisme did not agree with me on the Speaker’s race. Yet the blog linked to one of my posts. We also exchanged private e-mails where I was told I was wrong—But was not told that I was a jackass or that I loved Tom Craddick.

I don’t believe in Karma. The only way decent people get noticed is when someone points out that they are decent. South Texas Chisme is a good operation and worthy of your attention.

Also, I’ve looked up the word chisme. According to the Berlitz Spanish Pocket Dictionary it means “bit of gossip.”  

January 26, 2007 - Posted by | Blogging, Good People, Texas

2 Comments »

  1. Thanks for the kind words. I enjoy a discussion without tantrums.

    Comment by CouldBeTrue | January 26, 2007

  2. south texas chisme rocks. i didn’t start reading it until recently, and it’s nice to see them get some recognition. BTW, this is the first time i’ve popped over here (via texas lefty blogwire). i’ll be back. keep up the good work!

    Comment by anna | January 26, 2007


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 140 other followers

