Texas Liberal

All People Matter

Liberals Should Keep Green Party Alive So Democrats Don’t Use Us Like They Use Black Voters

I’ve made a $25 donation to the national Green Party. I did this despite my regret for having voted for the erratic Ralph Nader in 2000 and despite the failure of the Texas Green Party to grow as a third party force.

I do support Democrats. In 2006 I made donations to the Harris County Democratic Party, the Texas Democratic Party and to my local ill-fated U.S. House candidate. I donated to the state party despite my suspicion that they don’t do very much.

I gave to the Greens because I want options. I don’t trust Democrats to address global warming, the problems of big cities or job and wage concerns linked to globalization. I don’t want to be used by Democrats in the same way they use black voters.

At the moment Greens don’t appear to be making electoral progress. At least not in Houston or in Texas. As I recall, in 1998 Greens were on the Texas ballot in at least two races where no Democrat ran. In 2006, no statewide Green candidate was on the ballot.

Still, you never know when a third party will force one of the major parties to finally take action on the most important issues. We must have options.

November 29, 2006 - Posted by | Politics, Things I've Done

3 Comments »

  1. The greener the better! thanks Neil.

    Comment by george | November 29, 2006

  2. I totally agree with you about a third party forcing the issues. If it wasn’t for the votes that the green party gets then the other parties would never realize how important it is to so many people. Some of the teachers who I work with say they don’t vote because it doesn’t matter and it kills me. Teachers saying that!

    Comment by Shannon Slim | November 30, 2006

  3. My personal values are definately Green Party values. But I would rather see them as a viable faction within the Democratic Party. It’s a tough call. Really, anything that forces us to sign Kyoto and address global warming with the upmost urgency that it requires is a good thing. A smart thing.

    Comment by naturalhigh | November 30, 2006


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 139 other followers

