Texas Liberal

All People Matter

Tip Your Server At Time-And-A-Half Rate If You Eat Out On Thanksgiving Day

Many people skip the holiday cooking and eat out on Thanksgiving Day. I often eat Thanksgiving Dinner at a seafood place with a view of the ocean in Galveston, Texas. That restaurant is always full.

If you eat out on Thanksgiving Day, please be certain to tip your server at a time-and-a-half rate. If you normally tip 18%, you should consider leaving 27% on Thanksgiving Day. 

Your server is working a holiday. He or she should be paid at the same time-and-a-half rate you would expect for working a holiday.

If you stop at your local convenience store on Thanksgiving, maybe you could buy the person who rings you up a $1 scratch-off ticket. The person behind the counter is working a holiday and should be recognized for doing so.

We can’t respect our own work until we respect all work. People working a holiday might well rather be with family or friends. Treat such people with courtesy and offer up the money that you would hope for in the same circumstance.

November 20, 2006 - Posted by | Best Posts 2006, Things I've Done, Tip Your Waiter Time-And-A-Half On Holidays

15 Comments »

  1. “He or she should be paid at the same time-and-a-half rate you would expect for working a holiday.”

    NO, he or she should be paid the normal percentage. SO WHAT if it’s a holiday. Answer this: “Do you do ANY MORE WORK THAN NORMAL TO DESERVE MORE PAY?” The answer is NO. So WHY pay MORE for the **SAME** AMOUNT OF WORK just because it’s a holiday?

    I can still get shitty service on a holiday just as I can on ANY OTHER DAY. What day it is has ABSOLUTELY NOTHING, NOTHING, NOTHING, NOTHING TO DO WITH THE QUALITY OF SERVICE!

    “If you stop at your local convenience store on Thanksgiving, maybe you could buy the person who rings you up a $1 scratch-off ticket. The person behind the counter is working a holiday and should be recognized for doing so.”

    NO, working at a place that has no holidays off is a personal CHOICE. Do we pay doctors that work emergency rooms more because they are working on holidays or fighter fighters? NO, we DON’T. So just because you are a tipped employee doesn’t mean we OWE you anything more just because it’s a certain day. Think about people that don’t get paid anymore, is that fair to them if we pay you more, but not them? I don’t think so. I am FAIR by tipping the SAME WAY on holidays as ANY OTHER DAY. WHO THE FUCK CARES WHAT DAY IT IS? I CARE ABOUT THE IF I GET MY ORDER DELIVERED TO ME CORRECT AND TO RECEIVE REQUEST IN A TIMELY FASHION AS WELL AS NOT TO GET OVERCHARGED. I don’t tip ANY BETTER on a holiday. On Christmas 2005, it snowed, so the roads were closed to visit my family. My husband and I ate a Denny’s. The server forgot my sides of syrup and extra side of butter, she received LESS than 15%, because the service that she was providing us was NO DIFFERENT than ANY OTHER DAY as well as she didn’t TRY to VERIFY that what she was taking me was 100% correct as far as OBVIOUS mistakes go. If you take my order, you SHOULD make sure BEFORE you leave that kitchen you have condiments I’ve asked for or the correct entree or side dish. I DON’T CARE WHAT DAY IT IS. I TIP BASED ON PERFORMANCE, NOT WHAT FUCKING DAY IT IS!

    IF YOU DON’T WANT TO WORK HOLIDAYS, GET ANOTHER JOB THAT DOESN’T MAKE YOU WORK ON HOLIDAYS! DON’T EXPECT MORE FOR THE SAME EXACT AMOUNT OF WORK YOU PROVIDE ANY OTHER DAY! YOU CAN STILL MAKE MISTAKES JUST AS ANY OTHER DAY.

    Comment by Jane Doe | November 27, 2006

  2. wow…you sure are mean and grumpy.

    Comment by neilaquino | November 27, 2006

  3. wow…

    your the epidemy of those “people” that look at any aspect not to tip someone. Seriously… SCREW YOU we work our asses of to please you and are not able to see our families when we want when your lounging with yours taking your crap. I feel sad for you. I really do. asshole.

    Comment by rob | December 10, 2006

  4. rob
    “Seriously… SCREW YOU we work our asses of to please you and are not able to see our families when we want when your lounging with yours taking your crap. ”

    SCREW YOU then. Seriously, there ARE jobs out there that DON’T Require holiday work. WHY should ANYONE CARE WHAT FUCKING DAY IT IS? You are still doing EXACTLY THE SAME, SAME, SAME WORK AREN’T YOU? SO WHY GET PAID MORE FROM CUSTOMERS? If an employer chooses to pay someone time and a half for a holiday, that’s the EMPLOYER’S CHOICE, which doesn’t mean that the customer has to do the same or should do the same. You can work office work such as a file clerk or receptionist, which MOST offices DO HAVE holidays OFF WITHOUT A DEGREE. You can answer phones or file paper work without a degree. WHY NOT DO THAT IF YOU HATE WORKING ON HOLIDAYS SO MUCH? That’s WHY I am working at an OFFICE. I get HOLIDAYS off. I even get benefits, such as paid holidays after 3 months, which March will be a year since I’ve been there. You don’t have to have a degree to do simple office work.

    “asshole.”

    That’s YOU! **YOU** make the **DECISION** to work at a place that you have to depend almost SOLEY on customers for your imcome, which is YOUR CHOICE to do. QUIT BLAMING EVERYONE ELSE FOR ****YOUR*** CHOICES ASSHOLE!

    Comment by Jane Doe | December 16, 2006

  5. I appear to have set off a small wave of bitterness.

    Comment by neilaquino | December 17, 2006

  6. OMG your a bitter bitch. Servers are human too. And just think if we all took those boring office jobs and got fat there would be no one to serve your scanky ass. And you would have to cook. And remember everytime you sit at your table and have to get up to get salt, refills, etc. Just remember the server that forgot them too. It sucks to be human wanker. And your not the only person that server is serving and to remember EVERYTHING that pests like you want takes away from giving customers that appreciate us good service. STAY YOUR CHEAP ASS AT HOME!

    Comment by Fancy | December 21, 2006

  7. OMG your a bitter bitch. Servers are human too. And just think if we all took those boring office jobs and got fat there would be no one to serve your scanky ass. And you would have to cook. And remember everytime you sit at your table and have to get up to get salt, refills, etc. Just remember the server that forgot them too. It sucks to be human wanker. And your not the only person that server is serving and to remember EVERYTHING that pests like you want takes away from giving customers that appreciate us good service. STAY YOUR CHEAP ASS AT HOME!
    I serve because for the most part I love the variety of people I meet. Your ass is few and far between thank GOD.
    And servers wages at 2.13 an hour have NOT gone up in 20 years. Where’s the fairness there? I bet your wages have gone up. Try to live off 2.13.
    Yes its our choice. And I do have a degree. I’ve pretty much used it up and it led me to a boring career. Im almost 50 now and this is what I choose to do hoping there are people out there that dont think like you do.
    Your just plain ignorant. And we dont have time for you. Shove that silverspoon up your ass. And have some compassion for others ya skank!
    Happy Holidays to all.. excluding bitter ass bitches.

    Comment by Fancy | December 21, 2006

  8. Fancy
    “And just think if we all took those boring office jobs and got fat there would be no one to serve your scanky ass.”

    WHY would you say ANYTHING about being “FAT?” I am 29yrs old. I am 5’0″ and weigh only 90-92lbs. I watch my weight. The biggest I have gotten was 106lbs in 1999 due to being in college because of studying and not exercising much. I’ve been a file clerk before as well as a mail clerk. I’ve been on my feet parts of the day and sometimes the entire day. The mail clerk job I was on my feet 95% of the day delivering faxes to offices and distributing mail as well as other task. One file clerk job I had I was on my feet almost the whole day also. NOT EVERY OFFICE JOB MEANS SITTING ON YOUR ASS YOU IDIOT!

    Also, do you “ASSUME” that everyone that has office jobs that do sit all day don’t exercise or do their housework? Doing some house hold chores as well as going grocery shopping IS exercise. I am NOT sure why you think that ALL people that have office jobs are going to get fat? It’s more about “HOW MANY CALORIES” you eat in a day, NOT as much about exercise, otherwise, I’d be fat if that was the case, because my office job now is sitting down all day. I count calories and some days even know about how many I’ve consumed in a day.

    “And servers wages at 2.13 an hour have NOT gone up in 20 years. Where’s the fairness there?”

    Did I EVER say it was “FAIR?” NO, OF COURSE IT’S NOT, but you “CHOOSE” not to work at Wal-Mart or a grocery store or even other jobs that you would get more per hour from your employer. One of my friends that doesn’t have a degree works at an airport checking luggage making $12/hr. My point is, you say it’s not fair, well GO FIND ANOTHER JOB THEN! QUIT BITCHING ABOUT IT!

    “STAY YOUR CHEAP ASS AT HOME!”

    I am NOT cheap. I tip 25% QUITE a number of times when I have good service, but if the service sucks, I truly DON’T care what day it is. Like on Christmas in 2004, it snowed here and some roads were closed so I couldn’t go see my family. My husband and I went to Dennys which was open. As what usually happens when I order condiments on the side, the waitress forgot my sides of syrup and butter with NO APOLOGY. Sorry, but she got herself less than 15%. I DON’T CARE WHAT DAY IT IS! If you make mistakes, you WILL PAY FOR THEM LITERALLY! She SHOULD HAVE said she was sorry and I would have given more, but NO, servers are UNCARING, so I’m going to be just as UNCARING BACK in the tip. She was TOO DAMN LAZY to ****REREAD**** the order she wrote down and COMPARE it with the PLATE OF FOOD ******BEFORE****** taking it to the table. I DON’T CARE WHAT DAY IT IS. She’s going to make my Christmas miserable, so hers will be somewhat just as miserable. If the customer can see it’s missing without having to touch their food, so can the SERVER!

    “OMG your a bitter bitch.”

    That is YOU. YOU’RE A BITCH!

    Comment by Jane Doe | December 23, 2006

  9. Jane Doe (or springs1, as I believe you are called elsewhere), I knwo that this response is late, but I just wanted to point out one small thing: ER doctors and emergency personnel ARE paid more to work on holidays.

    Comment by DazeyD | January 1, 2007

  10. DazeyD
    “ER doctors and emergency personnel ARE paid more to work on holidays.”

    That’s an “EMPLOYER’S” CHOICE to do so, just as some people get paid holidays such as myself. It DOESN’T mean a customer has to do the same. Remember, customers are NOT OBLIGATED to tip at all unless you are in a large party or if you want to use a coupon that states in order to use it, automatic gratuity is added. My point is, I base my tip on my service. I don’t feel a customer should feel they should have to pay more because of what day it is. If a person wants to, that’s their choice. My choice is to tip the same rate as I normally would as ANY OTHER DAY. On Christmas day, we went out to eat this year. We waited from 7:03-7:15 to be able to ask for the check. Sorry, but she got 14%. My husband had to flag her down to even get her to come to our table. She COULD have came to see how we were even if she was busy at least by 7:10. That’s TOO LONG I feel we had to wait to give her 20%-25%. Normally, I would have tipped 10% in this situation, but since it was short staffed because it was Christmas, I figured I’d give a bit more than what I felt like due to the LONG wait. My point is though, I DON’T CARE if it’s “Christmas day” for the most part, I more care about my SERVICE, NOT WHAT DAY IT IS. 14% is not a horrible tip, so I think I tipped her ok. She got my food 100% right and remembered my ranch, so I feel she deserved the 14% considering it was short-staffed on that day. I’ve worked on Christmas 3 times in my lifetime. Some people gave me more tips at the donut shop, some people didn’t tip at all. Some people gave me the same amount as normal. My point is, you can’t expect EVERYONE to give more than a normal amount just because it’s a certain day.

    Comment by Jane Doe | January 4, 2007

  11. Wow. Your server “made your day miserable” because she forgot a side of butter and syrup? That is so classy. Tough life you lead. Good thing you really taught her a lesson.

    Comment by Chloe | January 8, 2007

  12. Hello. This Neil Aquino. It’s my blog all you folks are visting. I’m glad for every reader and thank you for coming my way. I work hard at this blog and would ask that you please also look at some of the other posts I’ve written. You can do so by clicking the big words “TexasLiberal” at the top. Thank you.

    Comment by neilaquino | January 16, 2007

  13. That was a fun little blog run there neil. jane doe you are missing the point that when office workers the paper pushing backbone of our country have the paid day off and are getting paid for it because they work in this office does not mean that the other people that are working should not be entitled to make the same as if your boss called you into the office to work on such holiday. you work in the office because its the best job you can get and its your choice to keep that job. Yes its true the server and the restaurant worker are they by choice as well and the point neil was asking people to take was its nice to be extra nice on such days where most of the country is off and these fine people no different than you have decided to work on this day and extra pay is a nice way of saying thank you for working on a holiday. I would rahter be a bartender than a mail clerk and in california you make 8.75 as a server or a busser, ohio is one of the few states left where the employer gets a tip credit and can pay the lesser wage. this was designed for the smaller business to make the work wage lower so they could stay open because they know the servers are making tips and yes the word comes from to insure prompt service. its not a gaurentee tip for anyone but if they have done there job and done it well its nice to show some appreciation. jane not sure where your anger comes from but i would expect with a college degree if you have one and your fabulous mail clerk job you might appreciate other trades a little more than you do,

    Comment by bill brady | December 8, 2007

  14. I’d don’t buy this time and a half crap nor do I buy this full tipping for specials crap. For me its 20% flat (25% for my favorite places), Holidays are 33% (1/3 the bill) except Christmas and Easter which are 50% if I’m eating out at actual gathering, 100% if stopping in at Denny’s or somewhere cheap. All tips calculated after tax.

    Bartenders also get 20% flat rate no matter if it comes out to $1 a drink or not (though sometimes I’ll be nice for smaller tabs). Deliverymen get 20% flat rate as well, why the hell is it expected to pay a bartender $1 a drink for $2 drinks (50% tip) for opening a beer or pouring a shot (I consider mixed drinks a sign of weakness), while people routinely give the deliveryman 5% to drive half way cross town? Plus I see the deliveryman as more of a blue-collar “workin man” as opposed to a glorified soda-jerk

    Shitty bartending will get you knocked down from the 20%, but I have low standards here so its rare. Technically I might tip less for shitty waitering but standards are even lower for me here. Deliverymen get 20% no matter what since they run the highest risk of getting shot on the job and risk getting fired if they pack heat for protection.

    Comment by John Donkey | February 16, 2009

  15. For the non-math inclined, yes I do end up actually tipping MORE than time and a half for holidays (which for me includes Thanksgiving, Fourth of july, Christmas and Easter, sorry non-Christians!) But I do so for holiday spirit, not some Marxist notions! Of course my hatred of eating out generally means that the last place I’d want to be on the holidays is a diner, but if I am there I’ll spread the holidat cheer. I don’t usually give to non-veteran beggars, but on Easter and Christmas the first one who asks me for money gets a 10 spot

    Comment by John Donkey | February 16, 2009


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 137 other followers

