Texas Liberal

All People Matter

Welcome To TexasLiberal

This is TexasLiberal I’m Neil Aquino, a resident of Houston.  

I’m committed to advancing liberalism in Houston, Texas, and across the nation. My blog will speak to that goal. I believe progress can be made and will be made at every level. 

Houston is a city that has never elected a Republican mayor. You can’t argue with that. But Houston is also a city that’s never realized the political possibilities of its majority-minority population and many committed liberals. 

In Texas, far more people than understood realize things must change. A Houston Chronicle article from September 2005, says 45% of Texans surveyed might support an income tax if it reduced property taxes and helped fund education.  

It’s taken as an article of faith that an income tax would never pass in Texas. Yet, with the right circumstances, nearly half of Texans would be open to the idea.  

With courage and effort the day may come when Texas has something approaching a fair system of taxation.    

In our nation, it’s time to win the fight over the direction the country and the Democratic party take after the Bush nightmare ends.   

This blog is about the belief that things can get better if good people are willing to work hard to make them better. 

All ideologies are in the minority. Most people are apathetic or, at best, hold few strong beliefs. The liberal, just like the conservative, wants to be part of the hardworking minority that prevails.  

June 30, 2006 - Posted by | Houston, Texas, Welcome To TexasLiberal

6 Comments »

  1. You’ll probably never see this comment, but I’d like to share one thought with you. I read a lot of “poltical” blogs, both sides of the aisle. I belong to a political party of One, it’s the “Pragmatist” party. Our party seeks “Working Solutions to Real Problems.” I get frustrated with sites that blather on ideologically. We need to find the courage to experiment to find workable solutions!

    Comment by ed | July 26, 2006

  2. Neil,l keep up the good work, I am proud to be a charter member on your blog ,jughead

    Comment by Jughead | August 3, 2006

  3. As usual , I find your words insightful, and they give me cause to pause and contemplate subjects in ways to which I am unaccustomed. You forgot an ” E” and it would appear that you might have intended to say “at every level” instead of ” at very level”. You are a powerhouse.
    Jruzsa

    Comment by jruzsa | August 4, 2006

  4. Neil, I am proud to see a defense of Texas in your kickoff blog entry (Houston specifically-Austin liberalism gets too much credit in my opinion). Having lived In California for about 1 year now, I have grown tired of hearing slams against Texas. Of course, Enron-Delay-Electric Chairs-Crawford provide an easy target. But, how does the mighty blue state of California hold up?
    Forget Arnold (that’s too easy).
    The anti-immigrant activism here in Orange County is nauseating. Sure, the backlash in Texas is also strong, but I was surprised to see just how organized the Cali variant really is. For those who might counter that Orange County is not representative of the State, I assure you that this xenophobic activism extends far beyond the county line. The imagery and rhetoric emanating from this (non)movement suggests an America on the very brink of decay, just moments away from a hostile takeover. If I may, I will generalize somewhat to say that the ultra-rich hugging the beautiful California coastline are strong proponents of this view. I find it ironic that those privileged enough to enjoy what appears to be an idyllic lifestyle are the same people that rail about the direction this country is heading. Their sky-is-falling outrage sounds more anti-American than any peacenik anti-war slogan.
    What about inequality? Again, the South is usually an easy target. Recently, I made my first venture into South Central LA. The Freeway design in the city does a good job at hiding the reality contained in this notorious urban zone. Although I have driven through this area dozens of times, I could never get a real sense of the area. After exiting the freeway, it was quickly apparent that the riots were just waiting for a spark. Louisiana is not the only state that fails to look out for its citizenry.
    I could continue, but I only begin this list to illustrate a few points. Furthermore, I don’t want to give the impression that California is a terrible place. Personally, I love it here. And, the state does harbor a very progressive legacy. So does Texas. I think Neil has done a superb job in illustrating this fact and hope he will continue to do so.
    Lastly, I would like to speak a little bit about the question of ideology. Because I am still a semi-tourist, my observations about California may be misguided. Yet, I don’t believe I am reacting in a too rigid and knee-jerk fashion. Perhaps someone else with more expertise on the state and issues could reveal in a more nuanced way the topics I have glossed over. However, and this is my real point, I believe Neil and I share the conviction that it is important to know which side you’re on. This is something that rush-to-the-center democrats are definitely not doing (I am also upset to see Obama in this camp). I certainly respect and appreciate the motivation behind pragmatism—that truly American philosophical tradition. Of course, political power still requires unity in action. Ideology may only be a negative way to refer to the glue that can hold such a coalition together.

    Thank You Neil for directing my attention to this forum and I look forward to reading future entries.

    Ryan Pearce

    Comment by Ryan | August 4, 2006

  5. Hi,
    your blog is amazing. I have to visit it again.

    Comment by Cindy | November 18, 2006

  6. its nice to see where you have been in the last couple of years.

    Comment by bill brady | December 4, 2008


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 138 other followers

